In 28 out of 50 American states, you can be denied a job if you refuse to join a labor union and share a portion of your salary with your union bosses. Only 22 states currently have what are known as “right to work” laws which protect hard working Americans from rapacious unions.

If a person cannot work, they cannot feed themselves and their family members. These 28 states have no protection for Americans who want to work, but are morally opposed to labor unions and to having their wages subject to legalized extortion.

Legislators in several states are currently working to pass right to work laws to protect American workers. Senator Jim DeMint of South Carolina introduced the National Right to Work Act on Tuesday. This act would protect Americans from any state against predatory union practices.

Senator DeMint stated “No American should be forced to join a union and pay dues to get a job in this country. Many Americans are already struggling just to put food on the table, and they shouldn’t have to fear losing their jobs or face discrimination if they don’t want to join a union. Forced-unionism shields unions from member accountability and has a detrimental effect on the economy.”

Co-sponsors of the National Right to Work Act are Tom Coburn (R-OK), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Mike Lee (R-UT), Rand Paul (R-KY), James Risch (R-ID), Pat Toomey (R-PA) and David Vitter (R-LA).